Spring Has Sprung!

It was a long winter. The weather was mild enough but we had our fair share of sickness, including a trip to the walk-in for Luke and one to the ER for me. We’re both doing well now, praise the Lord! From the middle of January through the whole month of February we didn’t get to church at all. Thankfully, we have made it the last 5 weeks in a row. It’s been such a blessing to get out of the house to worship and fellowship with our church family.

March was very mild in our part of the world. It was so refreshing to get outside to enjoy the fresh air and sunshine. I even spent some time working in the garden with a few of the children! We got all the raised beds cleaned out and some cardboard laid down in one bed to try and kill some grass that is coming up. We bought seeds early in the month. It’s been hard holding off on getting them in some soil but I did finally get some planted last night. I planted peppers, tomatoes, some herbs, and some flowers. I’ll be planting lots more as the weeks go by.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Our garden area is fairly new. It took us several years to realize we needed to create raised beds if we were ever going to get much of a harvest. Clay soil that is often saturated all spring made it impossible to get a garden planted in a timely fashion. The garden is a work in progress. We’ll be adding two new beds where the red arrows are pointing. It’s a far cry from gardens we’ve had in the past but I’m thankful for what we do have.

I’m so excited about gardening, permaculture, and expanding our homestead that all my reading has been on these subjects. Five Acres & A Dream The Book by Leigh Tate has been very interesting. Leigh and her husband are on a small acreage in Virginia where they are  creating a self-sufficient homestead. You can read more about Leigh’s adventures here, 5 Acres & A Dream The Blog. I also got a new to me copy of The Encyclopedia of Country Living by Carla Emery. I bought a copy of this book nearly 20 years ago when I was still living with my parents and unmarried. I had a desire even then to live the homesteading life and be married to a farmer. That copy finally bit the dust so I picked up a used copy. I recently found Carla’s daughter, Esther and her family, on YouTube! They are creating an off-grid, permaculture homestead in Idaho. I’ve been really encouraged and motivated by what they’ve shared. The most recent book I pulled out is Integrated Forest Gardening. Scott and I plan to use permaculture methods on our 6 acres in the southern part of the state. We’ve been researching and reading up on this subject for over a year now. This year we were actually able to start putting our plan into action! I’ll share more about what we’re doing in another post.

Spring is here and  I’m so ready!

Leave a Reply

