18 Weeks (4 Months)

I can’t believe I’m nearly halfway through this pregnancy! Where does the time go? It seems like it was just a few days ago that we found out another baby blessing was on the way. And I’ve only posted here once about this precious little one. I thought it was about time to write an update. šŸ™‚

Having moved to a new area, we had to find a new midwife. I wasn’t sure we would find anyone so I was preparing for the possibility of having my first hospital birth. Well, we talked to our former midwife and she said that there was only one licensed midwife north of Syracuse. She wasn’t sure if she was anywhere near us. She gave me her phone number anyway and I gave her a call. It turns out that she lives only about an hour away which was about the same distance we traveled to get to our other midwife! We had a “consultation” appointment so we could get a feel for her and she for us. She told us a little bit about herself and her practice. The thing we were most anxious about was the cost. We were thrilled when she told us that she only charged $1500 if we paid her by the baby’s EDD! And she’s willing to barter with us if we can’t come up with that amount! We were thrilled! (Our former midwife charged $4000 for first time clients. She did give us discounts bringing it down to $2700, though.) The consultation went well but I have such a hard time getting to know new people especially for such an intimate reason. We set up our first appointment for December 3rd. I was only 9.5 weeks along so we weren’t able to hear the baby’s heartbeat yet. Everything else went smoothly although I hadn’t gotten my records for the older children’s births. We set up the next appointment for January 12th, the day before Scott’s birthday. I was then 15 weeks and 1 day along. My blood pressure was great and we were able to hear our precious baby’s heartbeat for the first time!!! I never tire of hearing that beautiful sound! Our next appointment is February 16th and I’ll be 20 weeks 1 day! We’re just two weeks away! I’m so excited to hear precious baby’s heartbeat again!

Oh, and we have a name picked out for a girl, Hannah Sophia! It means “gracious wisdom”! I’ve loved this name since I was pregnant with Esther but I knew I wanted to name my first daughter after my Grandma whose name was Esther. Scott told me a few weeks ago that he likes my choice for a girl name, too! We’re still talking about boy names. We have a good-sized list of names we like. It’s just a matter of coming up with a couple top picks and then figuring out a middle name. I’m sooooo excited to meet this sweet precious baby blessing!

Rebecca, I still haven’t come up with a nickname. I just have such a hard time using something other than “baby blessing”. I’ve used it with all my babies and I just love the truth of the name. I’m still open to suggestions. šŸ˜‰ I’ve been trying to come up with something summery since this baby is due in July. Any suggestions, anyone?

I’ve taken a few “belly shots” over the last month and a half. Here they are. Please ignore the really bad hair! Ack!

12 weeks 1 day ~ 12/22/09
100_0839

15 weeks ~ 1/11/10
Estherand Pregnancy 010

18 weeks ~ 2/1/10
Baby Belly Pictures 004

4 thoughts on “18 Weeks (4 Months)

  1. Yay! What a fun post! The best of all worlds: updates, photos AND a name!

    Your girl name is absolutely stunning. I wish *I* had thought of it! šŸ˜‰ Last summer we borrowed a children’s book out of the library and the main character was a girl with the most beautiful name ever-I told myself that I would name one of our girls that (and remember telling Corynn the same) and figured I would *NEVER* forget such a beautiful name….

    but I did. šŸ˜¦

    SO, unless by some fluke we pick up the same book, I guess we are starting from scratch. šŸ™‚

    Great news about the midwife! You wouldn’t believe how much more expensive hospital births are!

  2. New here – congratulations on the blessing! I really like the ‘babystrology’ thing you have on the side of your blog – that is really neat.
    I look forward to checking out your blog. Have a wonderful day!

    In Christ,
    Joanne in MO

  3. I didn’t know that you were posting again. Nice to see and congratulations on all progress on all fronts! I started knitting dish cloths because of your post about a year ago.

    My ten year old daughter is named Anna Sophia. I think “gracious wisdom” couldn’t be lovelier for a lady of any age.

    Thinking of you –
    Leslie

Leave a Reply

