Encouraging Words from The Word

One of my goals for this year is to read through the Bible. I hate to admit how many times I’ve attempted this and have failed miserably. 😦 Well, it’s a new year and, with the Lord’s help, I’ll be successful! Many of the ladies at my mom’s and sister’s church are also reading through the Bible this year so I’m using the same “plan” they are. We’re reading through both the Old and New Testaments chronologically.

We’re reading through Job right now and I’m amazed at some of the similarities between Job’s situation and my own over the last 10-12 months. Obviously, I have not lost nearly everything and I’m not suffering physically but there are several people who have treated (and are treating) me like Job’s “friends” treated him. I’m amazed at how quickly people can become judgmental of another person’s choices or current situation. The Bible calls the men who were so critical of Job his friends. This leads me to believe that they had known Job for quite awhile before he endured the suffering God allowed Satan to bring upon him. In this case, they would have known Job’s character and that he was “blameless, upright, fearing God and turning away from evil” (Job 1:1,8 & 2:3). How could they so quickly forget and begin casting judgments and accusations at Job? They really were more ready to believe that he had done something wicked than to believe that God was testing him. It hasn’t been easy for me to endure people accusing me (and Scott) of making bad or wrong choices. It hasn’t been easy for me to see people assuming that somehow we lost all desire to seek and follow God’s will for our lives. It hasn’t been easy for me to see people so quickly forget my character and godly desires. It hasn’t been easy to avoid becoming bitter at these people who I know love me even if there concerns are misguided, unfounded, and out of line. 2009 certainly was the most trying and difficult year of my adult life! I thank God for bringing me through it!

Here are some verses I read today that were very encouraging. I hope you find them encouraging, too. 🙂

But He knows the way that I take;
When He has tested me, I shall come forth as gold.
My foot has held fast to His steps;
I have kept His way and not turned aside.
I have not departed from the commandment of His lips;
I have treasured the words of His mouth
More than my necessary food.
Job 23:10-12

I believe that our move to the North Country was ordained by God. I believe that He has brought us home to the place that we belong. I look around me at all the blessings He has showered on us since our move here at the beginning of September and I can’t help but praise and thank Him for His providence. We love this area. It is so beautiful! We love the farm and the housing we have had so far. We absolutely love the church we are attending. We are so thrilled to be welcoming a new baby blessing into our lives this summer. I feel like Job must have felt after he endured the hardships God allowed to come into his life. God restored to Job twofold what he had lost! I believe that God has restored to us what we thought we would never have again. And He has gone above and beyond anything we could have ever thought or imagined! I believe 2010 is going to be a wonderful year and I’m so excited to see what God continues to do in our lives! To God be the glory, great things He has done!

~ Look for a pregnancy update in the next couple days! 🙂

One thought on “Encouraging Words from The Word

  1. I am glad to see you blogging again…this way I can really “get up to date” on the Terrys! I can see how sad you feel about these other people who aren’t rejoicing with you…that indeed is hard. I am very happy for your family…and having been to the Black Lake area where you are, I can certainly understand why you love it! It certainly sounds like you are ALL quite satisfied and that is so important! I am glad that you can “put down roots” in a place that is all yours!

Leave a Reply

