Sick Days

The Lord has blessed us with a mostly healthy winter. We’ve dealt with a few sniffles here and there but nothing significant until last Tuesday evening. Scott had been out getting wood in the bitter cold. When he came in he felt awful because his asthma had been set off. Wednesday morning he realized it wasn’t just asthma, though. He had a fever, chills, headache and was aching all over. Then he started coughing, too. His appetite disappeared and yet he had to keep up with milking and chores. By Wednesday evening John and Noah both had it. By Thursday evening, Isaiah and Esther had it, too. Everyone is on the mend but no one has fully recovered yet. This is the nastiest flu we’ve ever encountered. I’m thankful that I didn’t get it although I have been dealing with a cold. And I had a horrible headache all night last night. So needless to say we’ve canceled school the last few days. The Lord willing we’ll be ready to jump back in again tomorrow morning.

On a side note: Can you believe I finally posted? Ha! I hope to keep it up, too. πŸ™‚

And I just had to share a newly discovered blog, Aspiring Homemaker, written by a lovely you lady, Mia. She has been an inspiration and encouragement to me already. πŸ™‚ I hope you’ll take a few minutes to check out her wonderful blog.

6 thoughts on “Sick Days

  1. Leah,
    So sorry you were all so sick! Glad to hear you on the mend. I am going to check out that web site you mentioned. Blessings from our house to yours.

  2. Hey Leah! Glad to see your post–and I always enjoy when you share gems of blogs. Mia’s is no exception~ I love it! I always admire young people who are so well prepared for the life of a woman, I think, because I was not prepared at all. Sometimes, I feel a bit resentful of the fact that I’ve had to learn and teach myself everything from sewing to cooking, gardening to canning. But since that isn’t productive, I find comfort in knowing that I am raising a generation that will not be so ill-equipt. Anyway

    Hope your house gets rid of the last of the sickies soon, glad to hear its all down hill from here!

    Also~do you guys grow sweet potatoes in your garden? It occurred to me that I forgot to order starts for them and I REALLY want to grow them for winter storage. (They are one of my favorite veggies).

    If you grow them and have a few extras, maybe you’d be willing to trade for some of our seeds? My garden seed list is here, if you are interested:

    http://zeahrenaissance.blogspot.com/2009/02/seeds-and-spring.html

    That’s ok if you don’ t grow or don’t want to trade, I can order them too. Just thought a barter would be a fun TRY. πŸ˜‰

  3. Elizabeth and Lisa, thank you so much for your comments. πŸ™‚

    Rebecca, I can feel a bit resentful at times, too. I think you’re much farther along the path than I am even though I’m a few years older. I still have so much to learn. 😦 I only hope I can figure (some/most of) it out before Esther gets too old. 😦 😦

    We’ve never grown sweet potatoes but they’re one of my favorites, too! Hmm, I might just have to add that to our short list of garden seeds/starts for this summer. πŸ™‚ We have lots of seed left over from last year so we only need to buy a few things. We’re also growing mostly, if not all, heirloom varieties in order to save the seeds for next year. I can hardly wait! Just a few more weeks and we can start some seeds indoors! πŸ˜€

  4. Leah,
    I’m catching up with the Terry’s!

    First, congratulations on lovely Esther! Can we have an updated photo?

    Second, praying for complete healing from the flu!

    Third, for the sweet potatoes, I purchased ones at the store (organic if possible) and made starts from those. It’s worked well for the first year, and I keep using the product of that first start every year since.

  5. I was JUST looking up the whole sweet potato thing and read on a website that you can start sweet potatoes from the ones you buy at the grocery store.

    http://www.ehow.com/how_2043375_grow-sweet-potatoes.html

    So~maybe we can get ourselves some sweet potatoes after all!!!

    PSST.. I’d love to hear all about your garden plans. What are you growing? Are you going bigger this year? I’ve recently read about no-till gardening options, which since we have no tiller, looks promising. Also called Lasanga gardening. Ever heard of it?

    I am super excited (and nervous) about all these plans we’ve made. Especially since I haven’t had a garden in two years because of the possibility of moving. And the ones BEFORE were more just tomatoes, squash and lettuce. We are going LOTS more now. I’ve never even grown BEANS before?! can you believe it?

    Anyway. Thanks for responding to my comment~and letting me KNOW too! I don’t usually check back, so I might have missed it otherwise! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

