The ABC's of Homemaking

I was blog-hopping before school this morning and came across this neat me-me at Ripening on the Vine. It looked really fun so I decided I’d bring it here and answer the questions myself. I’d love to hear the answers all of you would give, too, so please copy it and answer them on your blog. Then leave a comment here for me to come see your answers. 🙂

Aprons–y/n If y, what does your fave look like?
Yes! I love aprons and have many of them. My favorite is a very pretty floral one that was given to me in an apron swap.

Baking–Favorite thing to bake?
I love to bake bread! It’s been my favorite thing to bake since I was a teenager. I can hardly wait until our oven is fixed so I can start baking bread again.

Clothes line?
Yes. I don’t know what I’d do without my clothesline! I just love hanging clothes out to dry. In fact, I’ll be making a trip out to the line shortly to hang clothes to dry.

Donuts–Have you ever made them?
No, I’ve never made them but I’ve eaten them many times.

Everyday–One homemaking thing you do every day?
Dishes would be the closest thing but we always take Sundays off from house chores.

Freezer–Do you have a separate deep freeze?
We don’t personally but there are several at the farm which we are able to use.

Garbage Disposer?
Does our pig count?! 😉

Handbook–What is your favorite homemaking resource?
Mostly Titus 2 women’s blogs.

Ironing–Love it or Hate it? Or hate it but love the results?
I don’t do much ironing except for church on Sundays. It’s not my favorite chore but it’s not my least favorite either.

Junk Drawer–y/n? Where is it?
No, but we have plenty of junk which we’re sorting through and purging now!

Kitchen–color and decorating scheme.
I don’t really have a color or decorating scheme yet. We’ve other more important projects on our plate. Eventually it will be a farm/country theme with lots of chickens and roosters. I’d like to use lots of red in the curtains, chair cushions etc.

Love–what is your favorite part of homemaking?
Being at home with my family

Mop–y/n?
Not as often as I should.

Nylons, machine or hand wash?
I don’t ever wear them anymore. I wear long dresses or skirts and trouser socks.

Oven–do you use the window or open the oven to check?
I open it.

Pizza–What do you put on yours?
I like everything but onions.

Quiet–What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
Read, knit, or check the internet.

Recipe Card Box–y/n? What does it look like?
Yes, it’s just a wooden box.

Style of house–What style is your house?
A mobile home.

Tablecloths or Placemats?
Tablecloths

Under the kitchen sink–organized or toxic wasteland?
It used to be a toxic wasteland but not anymore.

Vacuum–How many times per week?
3 times a week or more. Being married to a farmer and having 3 sons 6 years old and under means lots of dirt, hay, etc.!

Wash–How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
Maybe 10? We’re sorting through and purging our clothes so this may change.

X’s–Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
I have lots of lists but not daily ones necessarily.

Yard–y/n? Who does what?
We have a very large yard but no lawn mower. Sometimes my husband borrows my father’s brush hog and mows what he can.

ZZZ’s–what is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
Picking up the living room.

Anyone else want to play the ABCs?

4 thoughts on “The ABC's of Homemaking

  1. Aprons–y/n If y, what does your fave look like?
    I will say YES, I would like an apron, but NO, I don’t actually own one. I just haven’t gotten around to it…

    Baking–Favorite thing to bake?
    Sweets-my downfall!

    Clothes line?
    No. There are no clothesline around here, as people say the humidity in the air makes it hard to dry clothes in FL. However, today is a wonderfully breezy day and I sure miss my old clothesline!

    Donuts–Have you ever made them?
    No, but I would like to with the kids one of these days.

    Everyday–One homemaking thing you do every day?
    Pick up around the house (toys, papers, etc)

    Freezer–Do you have a separate deep freeze?
    Yes, but we haven’t plugged it in yet. We’re waiting for hurricane season to pass by so we can feel safer stockpiling a bit more.

    Garbage Disposer?
    Yes. I think I am addicted to shoveling things down it. LOL 😀

    Handbook–What is your favorite homemaking resource?
    I can’t think of one right now. I mostly fly by the seat of my pants!

    Ironing–Love it or Hate it? Or hate it but love the results?
    I hate it, but love the results. I haven’t ironed in a long time, though. A funny story: Last year, I pulled out the iron to put to one of Dave’s shirts and Matthew asked, “Mama, what is that?” Ha!

    Junk Drawer–y/n? Where is it?
    Not a specific junk drawer, but there is definitely junk tucked around the house.

    Kitchen–color and decorating scheme.
    Since we are renting, it is and will stay an eggshell white with bright white trim the entire time we’re down here. Theme: nature-plants, seashells, pinecones, various bouquets the kids bring me. 🙂

    Love–what is your favorite part of homemaking?
    Looking at things put where they should be and everything neat. It makes my soul happy.

    Mop–y/n?
    Only when I absolutely have to, otherwise I spot clean as necessary.

    Nylons, machine or hand wash?
    Handwash, but I have a ban on them. They make my legs itch!

    Oven–do you use the window or open the oven to check?
    I open it. The window always seems to be fogged up.

    Pizza–What do you put on yours?
    Extra sauce, pepperoni, sausage-whatever I am in the mood for.

    Quiet–What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
    Catch up on chores I can’t do while the kids are up, read, surf the internet, bake…

    Recipe Card Box–y/n? What does it look like?
    Yes. It is a country blue painted wooden box with a goose stenciled on it that I got at a yard sale years ago. I have been meaning to repaint it more to my style, but then I am afraid I won’t be able to find it anymore!

    Style of house–What style is your house?
    A brick and sided one story house with 2 car garage.

    Tablecloths or Placemats?
    Tablecloths

    Under the kitchen sink–organized or toxic wasteland?
    Semi organized. No chemicals under the sink because of little ones, and we’re trying to use more natural cleaning products.

    Vacuum–How many times per week?
    As many times as it needs to be done, but probably 2x/week. Our landlady got a new carpet right before we moved in, so it produces fuzzballs by the truckload!

    Wash–How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
    2-3 loads.

    X’s–Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
    I usually try to keep a daily list, but sometimes it morphs into a “want to get done this week” list. 🙂

    Yard–y/n? Who does what?
    We have a pretty small yard now. I have mowed once so far. I borrowed our neighbor’s lawnmower. We are going to help pay for gas and just do that since we’ll be here only 1.5yrs. I am pretty much Queen of the Yard-weeds and everything else. Dave will mow, too, but it isn’t his favorite thing to do.

    ZZZ’s–what is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
    It changes from day to day, but things like running the dishwasher, sweeping up the kitchen floor, picking up living room, folding clothes…

  2. Can I update my post? 🙂 I just got an apron yesterday in the mail from a friend. I am now the proud owner of one apron! It is a pretty and fun flower print.

  3. Hey you! It’s been a while since you posted, and from what I recall, you are getting PRETTY DARN CLOSE to that fateful “D DAY”. How are you feeling? Can we get another belly shot? Pretty please?

    You haven’t delivered yet have you? Surely, my mom would tell me that….

    Do you feel like a little trip next week or the following? I was thinking of having you and Abby and Elizabeth all over for lunch.

    Email me. And post an update! I am missing them… 🙂

Leave a Reply

