Thinking Ahead

I can hardly believe it is already the first of July! Where did June go? Before we know it we’ll be bombarded with abundant produce from the garden. And I can hardly wait. So I’ve been thinking ahead to all the things I’d like to can and freeze this summer and fall. Our goal is to preserve enough food to get us through the coming winter. Here’s a list of things I hope to “put by” in the next few months.

To freeze:
Peas
Broccoli
Zucchini
Strawberries
Blueberries

To Can:
Green Beans
Dilly Beans
3 Bean Salad
Tomato Sauce
Stewed Tomatoes
Spaghetti Sauce
Salsa
BBQ Sauce
Tomato Soup
Ketchup
Peppers (My Grandma’s recipe)
Strawberry Jam
Blackcap Jam
Blueberry Jam
Spiced Peach Jam
Summer Squash Pickles
Bread & Butter Pickles
Dill Pickles
Pickled Beets
Zucchini Relish
Applesauce
Apple Pie Filling
Vegetable Soup

I’m sure I’ll come up with more ideas as the summer progresses but this is a good start! So what are you planning to preserve from your garden this summer?

2 thoughts on “Thinking Ahead

  1. Ask me after I’ve done it! 🙂

    I seem to always can in a great slam-bang rush and stuff into jars and freeze whatever explodes out of our garden or spills over from my mom’s or we buy along the way (blueberries!).

    I usually can a lot of the same things you do, but the thought of canning three bean salad is a new one to me, and it makes my mouth water!

    Maybe I should make a list… 😛

  2. Hey!! I have never canned before, but would love too!! Would it be possible for you to tell me what I need, and what I need to do, etc???? I’d really appreciate it. Just email me, thanks!!

Leave a Reply

