Homeschool Open House 2007

 

I can hardly believe that my oldest son will be starting kindergarten this year, our first “official” year. It just doesn’t seem possible! I just heard about “Homeschool Open House 2007” and decided to join in the fun! Below you will read a little bit about our family and what we plan to do this year in school. For more info on joining in on the open house click here.

Hello! My name is Leah. My husband, Scott, and I have been married for 7 years. We have three precious sons so far! John turned 5 years old in July. Noah is almost 3.5 years old. And Isaiah is 9.5 months old.

My husband is an organic dairy farmer. Both older boys spend most of their days in the barn, in the fields, or just roamin’ around the farm. They’re both wonderful helpers and love to spend time with their Papa!

I’m a second generation homeschooler and look forward to the challenge of teaching my children. I love having my children with me each and every day. Being a farm family we never know how our schedule will change. 🙂 I look forward to the adventures each new day holds!

John is only just now 5 so my plan for this school year will not be rigid. I will be teaching him reading (and phonics) using Spell to Write & Read. I will also be using Year 0 of Ambleside Online,  a free curriculum following the principles of Charlotte Mason. I’m excited about doing nature study, art study, composer/music study, etc. Living in the country and on a farm gives us the ability to pursue many varied and diverse interests. We all love to read (and be read to 😉 ) and love to explore the out-of-doors. For this reason, I think the CM method will be a perfect fit!

I’ll also be working with Noah, our 3.5 year old, on preschool-type things. I’m sure he’ll be picking up on some of the things his big brother is learning, too! 😉 

As far as where schooling will take place, I’d say anywhere and everywhere! Living life is a learning experience. We want to teach our children to love learning! We also want them to realize that even when they’re done with formal schooling they can and should continue to persue learning about the things that are interesting to them!

I look forward to looking through some (as many as I can) of the other homeschoolers blog entries!

 

12 thoughts on “Homeschool Open House 2007

  1. I enjoyed reading about your homeschool! This is also our first “official” year of school!! It is fun to find moms in the same boat as me! It sounds like you have a fun and exciting year planned for your little ones!

  2. We used to homeschool and I remember the wonderful excitement of a new school year beginning! Sounds like you have a good plan. We loved doing nature study!

    Manuela

  3. All the best with your first year of school! Sounds like you have a great plan, and certainly a great environment for learning!
    God bless and thanks for sharing,
    Love,
    Joy

  4. I have a Noah as well….He just turned 6…he has no siblings…yet…prayers appreciated…we also did AO Year 0 and will do Year 1 after Rosh Hashanah…for summer just focus on the 3 r’s and reading, like we read the My First Little House books and 40+other books that DS picked off the shelves of the library.

  5. Leah,
    I came over here via the link Jewels put on her blog. You have an absolutely lovely blog. I have loved reading about your plans for homeschooling this year. How exciting that you are a 2nd generation homeschooler! My dd is 11yo and talks about when she has her own children, how fun it will be to homeschool them.
    Blessings to you!

  6. Hi Leah,
    I’m here from Jewels blog also. I came over to see your apron. I love aprons. 🙂
    I hs using CM methods also, and have been a member of AO for many years. I’ve added your blog to my favorites-it’s very nice. I’ll be back.
    Joanna in Ca. 🙂

Leave a Reply

