Please pray for my niece!!!

On Sunday afternoon/evening Rayna, my 5 week old niece, came down with a fever. She also started acting like she was in pain when anyone touched her. She has been eating well and having regular dirty diapers which we thank the Lord for. Yesterday my sister took her to the hospital. They took blood and urine samples to culture. Because Rayna was eating well they sent her home. Rayna’s temp spiked this morning to 103.1 so my sister is going to the hospital again. The doctor had said that it could just be a virus but won’t really know until the cultures have had a chance to reveal another cause for the symptoms. My BIL is home with the older children. I wish I could go help her out.

Please pray for strength for my sister and for wisdom for the doctors. I’ll update when I know more.

Update #1 ~ Rayna has been admitted to the hospital. They think something may be wrong with her stomach. They’re also going to do a spinal tap. Please keep praying!

Update #2 ~ I don’t really know much more. The spinal tap is done. An IV is in place. More blood was drawn to do another culture. Rayna will be staying in the hospital for at least 48 hours. My sister will be by herself until tomorrow because she has the van and carseats. I’m going to call her later and may know more after I talk to her.

Update #3 ~ Rayna had a rough night last night. The doctor put her on penicillin and she had an allergic reaction to it. (My dad and Rayna’s older sister are both allergic to penicillin too.) She also continues to battle the high fever. It was nearly 104 through the night. They gave her cool baths and Tylenol to help with that. We’re hoping to know more when the doctor comes in later this morning.

Update #4 ~ I just talked to my mom. The doctor thinks Rayna has Roseola. It’s unusual for a baby her age to have such a high fever with it but she is now developing a rash. The swelling she experienced last night was not a reaction to the penicillin but to the spinal tap. She will stay in the hospital until all the testing comes back just to be sure it isn’t something else. At this point we feel we can breath a little easier. Thank you all so much for your prayers!

2 thoughts on “Please pray for my niece!!!

Leave a Reply

