Seeds, Gardens, & Thinking Ahead

According to the calendar spring is here but you’d never know it by looking outside! It seems that winter’s back has not quite been broken yet. But I’m so excited! Our seed order arrived today! Scott found a great place to order untreated seeds for a wonderful price. The owners of the company are Christian Agrarians, too, which makes it even better! You can find them at Heirloom Acres Seeds. We ordered a lot more this year both in quantity and variety! So what kind of seeds did we get? Beans (green, wax, and dried), Carrots, Beets, Collards, Cucumbers, Eggplant, Romaine and other lettuces, Peas (both snap and shell), Pumpkin, Spinach, Summer Squash, Zucchini, and Butternut Squash! We decided to purchase starts from a greenhouse for things like tomatoes and peppers. We just don’t have the space in our small home to start a lot of our own seeds indoors. It’s gonna be a great summer! I can hardly wait to get diggin’ in the dirt!

We plan to expand our gardens as we have every year since moving here! We hope to either sell “subscriptions” or sell at a farmer’s market this summer. Hence the large order of seeds! I’ll post pictures of our gardens throughout the season. It’s gonna be fun!

So with all this talk of seeds and gardens I’ve got to talk about what we plan to do with our harvest! Our goal is to put up as much as possible so that we don’t have to buy much at all from the grocery store over the winter. The Lord blessed us with a dehydrator so between that, canning, and freezing we should do well! I haven’t come up with my list of things to preserve yet but I can say for sure that it will be quite long. It’s gonna be a lot of hard work but so worth it!

2 thoughts on “Seeds, Gardens, & Thinking Ahead

  1. Hi there!

    I just found your blog, and noticed you’ve been reading mine! Nice to ‘meet’ you!

    I too have just started some seeds, and we just purchased a small greenhouse, I am SO excited 🙂 We did start our peppers and tomatoes inside, I was able to get most of my seeds from a local organic farmer we know, so it worked out well.

    I can’t wait to see a little dirt under my fingernails (to be promptly washed out) but that feeling is just so awesome!

    Thanks for the link love, I’ll be stopping again soon 🙂

    Leanne

  2. I am LOVING your site!!!! I added it to my RSS feed reader. We have a LOT of the same interests! 🙂 Thank you for this link about the seeds. We just moved into our new house and are a little late getting in on the gardening scene, but I will save the link for next year!

Leave a Reply

