Blueberries!!!

Oh, I just LOVE blueberries! They are my favorite fruit! Yum Yum!

We got to go blueberry picking today!!! We (Scott, the boys, and I) picked 17.68 pounds in just over an hour! The boys had a ball! And they did their fair share of picking, too! Scott’s parents went with us and picked 24.52 pounds! Scott’s parents drove and chose the place to pick. I was more than disappointed with the price per pound but it was easy, good picking. We’re hoping to go again next week! My thoughts are you can NEVER have enough blueberries in the freezer for winter! I can just smell blueberry muffins right now! In fact, I’ll post a recipe here for anyone interested. My sister gave me this recipe and it’s delicious!

Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:
3 cups flour
4 t. baking powder
1 t. salt
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1-2 t. real almond extract
1 cup milk
1/2 cup cooking oil
2 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen)
Sliced Almonds
Sugar

Note: If using frozen blueberries do NOT thaw them, use frozen.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Either grease 18 muffin tins or use 18 muffin papers. Mix flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Beat eggs, milk, almond extract, and oil together. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Fold together just until moistened. Add blueberries… fold in. Drop spoonfuls of batter in prepared muffin tins. Sprinkle a few almonds and then some sugar on each muffin. Bake about 25 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Blueberries!!!

  1. Hi Leah! We love blueberries, too, though I have trouble picking unless they’re highbush. Too much of a back killer! Little hands must make the work go faster; bet there were plenty of purple tongues and lips to go around! We are making muffins this week, too. We also make a delicious sauce for pancakes or french toast by simmering a handful of blueberries in some maple syrup. Our berries came from our local farm stand and were definitely too expensive. $3.75 a pint. They want $7.50 a quart for wild blueberries. EEEEK! I guess that’s one crop you could make a profit on if you so desired. Hope you’re enjoying some cooler weather!

  2. Leah, Your blueberry muffin recipe looks delicious! Am hoping to try it soon! Well, as soon as I can get back to actually cooking. The baby is doing great and loves to be held, especially by mom…lol! I noticed by your ticker that you’re now in the 3rd trimester! Not too much longer!

  3. Don’t wash fresh blueberries before you freeze them. Freeze them dry so they don’t stick together.

    I love blueberries too. Unfortunately my bushes seem to be done producing this year. I think it got too hot a few weeks back.

Leave a Reply

