A beautiful passage!

In my Bible reading this morning I read Psalms 89-91 and 2 Corinthians 2. I was really encouraged and convicted by the last few verses of the second chapter of 2 Corinthians and just HAD to share.

2 Corinthians 2:14-17

14 Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragance of His knowledge in every place. 15 For we are to God the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing. 16 To the one we are the aroma of death leading to death, and to the other we are the aroma of life leading to life. And who is sufficient for these things? 17 For we are not, as so many, peddling the word of God; but of sincerity, but as from God, we speak in the sight of God in Christ.

Another parallel passage is 1 Corinthians 1:18 which says, “For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” 

What kind of aroma are we giving off? Can others smell the fragrance of Christ wafting through us? Are we experiencing the power of God through the message of the cross? Are we sharing that message with those we come into contact with on a daily basis, Christian or non-Christian? What better way to fellowship with fellow-believers than over the Word of God! I’ve been challenged over the last month and a half to begin sharing the Word of God everywhere I go! God is working in all of us and teaching us from His Word (if we are in His Word). I believe we will be greatly blessed when we begin to share with others what God has been teaching and showing us from his Word. I must admit to finding it difficult sometimes to be willing to “put myself out there” and share with others. I get worried about what people will think. I don’t want to come across the wrong way. But God wants us to be fellowshipping over His Word. It is through His Word that we find encouragement and strength for each day. So my challenge to you, and myself, is to be willing to share with others what God is teaching you. You never know how encouraging it might be to someone else!

 

5 thoughts on “A beautiful passage!

  1. That is awesome, Leah! I happened upon your blog a few days ago…I hope you don’t mind my checking in. I wish I was more like you in being able to share His word. In fact, I wish I was able to be more into His word right. I’m struggling in a number of areas right now and this would be one of them…being pulled in too many directions and I can’t figure out how to do them all. Anyway, I just wanted to say how wonderful I think this is for you even though you “have to put yourself out there” to do it. Keep it up!

  2. Hi Leah! I just followed the link your husband posted; I’ve been reading Scott’s blog for many months now since the Lord placed a vision for the agrarian life in my heart, and your family is an inspiration to me! That said, I agree with you about the Lord’s blessing on us as we share His word with others. I think any act of obedience on our part subsequently renews us spiritually as His Spirit works in our hearts. I’ve often prayed offering myself to the Lord as His instrument and requesting opportunities to be available for His use. He never disappoints me and I have many times come away from a fruitful interchange in wonderment that it was not “I” was was speaking, but “Him” through me. Such a blessing to be part of His plan! No, it isn’t always easy, but that is what sacrifice is all about….giving up our “self” to His will. Thank you for sharing your encouraging words. I hope you are dealing with the heat as comfortably as possible. I have a daughter born in October and it was quite a struggle that summer for me, I remember. Blessings to you and your family!

  3. Vicki, it’s so nice to “meet” you! I have a long way to go in sharing God’s Word with others. I’m actually a withdrawn, shy type so “putting myself out there” is not easy for me. I find myself not always taking opportunities as I should to share God’s Word. I also struggle in many areas, just ask my husband. 😉 But by His grace I’m learning and growing! I look forward to getting to know you better!

    Emily, so good to hear from you! Thank you for the kind compliment. There are many agrarian bloggers, including you, who are and inspiration to us! How exciting it is to share a vision with other Christian men and women! I have a long way to go, as I mentioned to Vicki, in sharing God’s Word as often as I should. But we are commanded to lift each other up and I really want to be an obedient follower of Christ for His glory! The last couple days have been scorchers! I’ve spent most of the day at Scott’s parents in their air conditioned living room. We’re supposed to be getting a “cold” fromt in the next 24 hours which will be very gladly welcomed! I can’t stand the thought of canning in this hot, humid weather!

    If you ladies don’t mind I’d love to add you to my blog’s list so I can frequent your blogs more easily! 🙂

  4. Thanks so much for your kind words, Leah. Please do add my blog to your list. I’ve done the same with yours. 🙂 It always amazes me how things work out. My DH and I have been talking for the past couple of weeks about how crazy our life is…always running here and there…and how we need to find a way to take a step back. He’s been talking about wanting to start a self sufficient farm. I did a search one day last week, can’t remember now what I searched on, but your DH’s blog was the first one that came up and by what he was describing it fit what my DH had been talking almost to a T. I’d been browsing your blog as well but I didn’rt realize until today that you two were related until I saw you DH’s link on his site that lead here. I’m not sure if we will ever get to the point of being able to do this but we are researching and learning everything we can so that if the opportunity presents itself, we’ll be ready.

  5. Leah, please do add me to your list! Scott was one of the first people to encourage me when I started blogging and I appreciate all the insights into the agrarian lifestyle your family shares. They say experience is the best teacher and we certainly jumped into this with both feet – or should I say plunged! I’m grateful for families like yours who have blazed the trail for those of us to whom this is a new way of life. May the Lord bless you and give you a bold and uncompromising heart for sharing His word! P.S. I just went outdoors to check on my “babies” (chickens and guineas) and found that the temperature has gone down several degrees and it was sprinkling. Oh blessed relief! 🙂

Leave a Reply

