Spending time in God's Word

My morning started off great with some time in God’s Word and prayer! I’ve been following a reading plan that a friend from WV gave my mom, my sister and me. Right now we are reading through 1 Samuel, also the corresponding Psalms written by David, and a chapter in Acts. This morning’s reading was 1 Samuel 22-23, Psalms 52, 54, 57, and 63, as well as Acts 8. All this reading and some time in prayer only takes me about 30 minutes. Time well spent I must say! For the most part I’m able to get it all done before the boys wake up for the morning.

I must admit to letting this area of my walk with the Lord slip over the years, especially as children started coming along. But the Lord has given me a new determination and a strong desire to make this work! I’m now on my 10th straight day of making this quiet time happen! What a blessing it has been to me! I’ve noticed also that my boys seem to be better behaved. Maybe it’s because mama’s focus has been put into the right place from the start of the day. I’m in a better frame of mind and my boy’s are feeding off of that. How cool is that?

Another thing I’ve begun doing is spending a few minutes every morning teaching the boys a memory verse. Our first verse was/is Ephesians 6:1. Within just a few days John was able to say the whole verse with just a couple helps! Noah is also doing an excellent job! I plan to add the next few verses in Ephesians 6 as the boys seem ready to move on. Of course teaching them this verse has helped with their behavior, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So back to my Bible reading for the morning. Psalm 63 was a great blessing to me this morning so I’m going to post it here. I hope you find it as encouraging as I did!

Psalm 63
A Psalm of David when he was in the wilderness of Judah.ย ย 

1 O God, You are my God;
Early will I seek You;
My soul thirsts for You;
My flesh longs for You
In a dry and thirsty land
Where there is no water.
2 So I have looked for You in the sanctuary,
To see Your power and Your glory.

3 Because Your lovingkindness is better than life,
My lips shall praise You.
4 Thus I will bless You while I live;
I will lift up my hands in Your name.
5 My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness,
And my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips.

6 When I remember You on my bed,
I meditate on You in the night watches.
7 Because You have been my help,
Therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice.
8 My soul follows close behind You;
Your right hand upholds me.

9 But those who seek my life, to destroy it,
Shall go into the lower parts of the earth.
10 They shall fall by the sword;
They shall be a portion for jackals.

11 But the king shall rejoice in God;
Everyone who swears by Him shall glory;
But the mouth of those who speak lies shall be stopped.

7 thoughts on “Spending time in God's Word

  1. I also confess to letting this area of my life slip, too, and it is the most important area! I agree that when you spend time in the Word before everyone else gets up, it corrects your focus and makes the day (and children!) much sweeter.

  2. Ugh! I too let this area slip. The days are the hardest too! Thank you for sharing the Word Leah. If it’s the reading chart I’m thinking of, it was a really great one and I actually read my whole Bible through in a year. I plan on doing it again in 2007!

  3. I am so proud of you Leah! I like to keep a copy of the TODAY or the Daily Bread in the Diaper Bag…It gets so hard when you have to be on the go all the time. Mom and Dad got the kids a Karaoke machine for Christmas…I thought that I might have the kids recite their verses in the microphone~ maybe they would enjoy that. My sister also got the kids a subscription to a Devotional Magazine called Pockets…I am going to bring it to church for the pastor…this is also nice for Family Worship. As women it really gets difficult for us to take time for ourselves since we are busy caring for everyone elses needs..but we feel so much better when we do…and so does everyone else…but still we deprive ourselves of things that we need too..like a personal quiet time.

  4. My mom’s most precious time when all of us kids were younger was her half-an-hour to an hour before we woke up when she would read the Bible and pray. I feel the lack of that in my own life and in my responses to my children, and I thank you for sharing. It’s encouraging to hear of you having this needed time!

  5. Hi Leah – i “know” you from the Raw Pregnancy group – so i decided to stop by your blog! I wanted to thank you for sharing..this was encouraging & challenging! ~Susanna~

  6. Hi Leah, Haven’t been by in a little while, been busy with the garden and my own blog, but I really enjoyed reading all your posts and “Catchin’ Up” on everything. I really like the post about you organizing your kitchen! ๐Ÿ™‚
    How’s that Kombucha Mushroom I sent you, did it arrive alright? I hope so, I’ll be sure to stop by more often, God Bless!!

  7. Leah,
    I understand your struggles with quiet times. It’s great to have it first thing in the morning and then teach your small sons Bible verses.

    Recently, I have been able to be more faithful in my quiet times and family Bible study through internet websites. My husband and I bought a laptop this year. It’s so convenient. Now I can sit on the couch and have a thorough quiet time with tons of helpful trustworthy resources at my fingertips. You can get to most of the things you will need to through the Mrs. Happy Housewife blog under Milk & Honey

    Here’s what I use:

    1. Heartlight’s Search God’s Word website–There is a read-the-Bible-through audio version that I listen to as I read along.
    2. Morning and Evening (Charles Spurgeon) devotional from Back to the Bible.org
    3. There is also a link to hymn devotional at that site that I must read sometimes
    4. Then I have my personal hand written prayer list that I use without the computer. Right now I am praying for my children from the Power of a Praying Parent by Stormie Omartian

    I also have Bible study with my children through the Mrs happy housewife site: Our children (8,11,12,13) like to play on their computer everyday so as a rule they must listen to the Bible read a loud for 15 minutes first thing! Then at night I reread one of the passages they listened to (Psalms). Then we repeat our monthly memory verse from church (Romans 8:38-39) that I look up on the computer.
    Then we repeat the attitude quote by Chuck Swindoll. (For some reason my children have gotten excited about learning this quote.
    Then I go to the cyberhymnal website and pick out an old hymn that I know and sing it with them. Sometimes they sing along.
    Lastly, but most importantly I say a prayer and then I send them to bed after I get a kiss from them.
    I used to stress out if I didn’t do a Bible time with them everyday but finally I wrote it in a schedule from Monday through Thursday. That’s four nights a week, if I do it 5 or more times I consider that better than what I had scheduled. I still strive to do my quiet time everyday and my children should be getting their Bible everyday on the computer.

    Whew! I hope you don’t mind that being so long. I just wanted to tell another Mom who has a passion for God’s Word what really works for me. In all my years of trying to learn the Bible I have never had it more structured than I do now.

    Linda Carlton

Leave a Reply

