All about our precious baby!

Well, my appointment went very well today! I’m currently 16 weeks and 4 days pregnant! Everything looks great with baby! His/her heart rate was 155-160 bpm. He/She was pretty low at first just above my pubic bone, then moved over to my left side. My babies always try to get away from the doppler. Heehee. My iron is at 13.8 right now which is great! The midwife said I’m only measuring about 1 week ahead. I still think I’m measuring a good 2 weeks or more ahead but who am I to argue with the midwife? 😉 She did say that most mothers who are pregnant with twins don’t measure too much ahead until later in the pregnancy. She said she always is looking for a second heartbeat just in case there is another baby. We’ve decided not to do the u/s for now. Hubby is a very traditional, old-fashioned-type, as am I really. If at some point in the future we are questioning things again we will probably have an u/s done. I guess twins are still a possibilty we just won’t know for awhile longer.

The midwife was telling us about another midwife who just delivered twins at home! The mother was thought to only be carrying one baby. Turns out there were two both weighing about 5.5 pounds! I think that would be the coolest thing!

The most awesome thing of all is that our midwife said she would be willing to attempt a twin homebirth with us! She said she feels we are great candidates for a twin homebirth because we are knowledgable in pregnancy, labor, and delivery and are confident and comfortable with attempting a twin homebirth. I was thrilled! Of course, there are several things that would have to fall perfectly into place such as the babies being in a good position to be born vaginally. How neat it would be to give birth to twins at home!

So I’m looking forward to my appointment in 4 weeks! I’ll be just over halfway at that point!

Here are some progressive belly shots. A couple of the ladies from church said it looks like I’ve popped over the last week or so! What do you think?

Top to bottom: 11w 3d, 14w 3d, 16w 3d

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I don’t think I wrote about feeling the baby moving around! I think it’s the most amazing thing! I first felt the baby move when I was in the hospital with Noah on the evening of April 20th. It was so reassuring to me that not only was our unborn baby doing well but it was almost confirmation to me that Noah was going to be fine, too. At lunch time on April 22nd the baby was doing somersaults! It was so wonderful! As I get further along I’m feeling the baby more and more! Last Thursday morning at about 6:30AM the baby was VERY active! In fact, the baby is making his/her presence known right now! Oh, I just love being pregnant!

9 thoughts on “All about our precious baby!

  1. I am so glad you posted Leah…I really didn’t want to bother you and track you down via the telephone..hehehe! It sounds like everything is really good! I still think you look like you have absolutely popped right out..:) How EXCITING!!!!!

  2. Leah,

    I was on your blog yesterday, waiting for an update! 😀 So glad to hear all went well. Isn’t it great to feel the baby move? It IS so reassuring and, for me, helped me to feel that I truly was pg!!

    In those photos you posted, I think it really does show that you have popped more. It used to bug me when someone would look at me and say, “Wow! You are really getting BIG!”, but then I remember it isn’t me. it is the baby! 🙂

    It is exciting to think of there possibly still being twins, even though one would certainly be great, too! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the update-I have been WONDERING! Even if it ISN’T twins-HOW EXCITING! I wouldn’t even say you were popping out anymore because you have been for a while. Now you really LOOK pregnant-no doubt about it! Can you believe you are almost halfway?!?! Sixteen weeks is one of my favorite times for a silly reason. The book “A CHILD IS BORN” has a photo of a baby 16 weeks old and it looks like such a sweet baby. A fully formed little miracle. And of course, 16 weeks is about the time I start feeling movement too, so that is an exciting time.

    How are you feeling these days? I mean, BESIDES excited? Has all your queasiness subsided? Are you still super tired or are you getting an energy buzz? Tell me all about it!

  4. Congratulations on feeling the baby move more and more! I’m so excited to start feeling that again! Being pregnant is truly amazing and a really precious gift that women get to experience.

Leave a Reply

