Belated birthday post and a surprise!

Yes, as of Monday April 24, 2006, I’m now offically 29 years old! Where has the time gone? It seems like just yesterday I was anticipating turning 20! And now I’m a year away from the big 3-0! Ack!

What blessings God has bestowed on me these last many years, though!

~ Scott and I will celebrate 6 years of marriage in just over a month. We were married on a beautiful day 10 days into the month of June in the year 2000. 6 days after our wedding we flew to Alaska with one-way tickets. After nearly a year there God brought us back to NY where we are enjoying living our homesteading dreams! Every year we are learning to live more simply, separately, and deliberately.

~ Just over a year after our return from Alaska God blessed us with our first son, John! What joy! John was born at home in the summer of 2002 in the farmhouse my mom grew up in! Her sister, my Aunt Nancy, was also born in that house!

~ Just 11 short months after having John we found out our second child was on the way! Noah was born at home in the last winter of 2004 just 19.5 months after John was born. Another son! At that time we were living in a small mobile home several miles from the farm.

~ Just before Noah’s 1st birthday God moved us into another mobile home on our own land! Hallelujah! My parents gave us about 5 acres next to their house. These 5 acres had once been an orchard with apples, pears, and plums. We are now working on restoring the land to its former beauty. We have a lot of work to do! 😉

~ Exactly one year after moving into our new home we found out we are expecting another baby! Praise the Lord! Our precious baby is due October 20, 2006! We’ve been praying for another baby blessing for many months! We had at least one miscarriage in the fall of 2005. God carried us through that difficult time and now we rejoice in the fact that another little one is on his/her way.

These last few years have not been without any trials but God has been faithful! What an awesome God we serve! So as hard as it is to know that I’ll be 30 in one short year, I look forward to continued growth not only in my family but with my Lord.

Scott blessed me with several beautiful gifts. He bought me Nancy Wilson’s CD series The Pleasant Home. I look forward to listening to this series and learning from it! He also got me two plants to start my first flower garden with! He got me a big pot full of pansies and a foxglove plant! The boys got me a primrose plant and gave me a card! Scott also gave me a beautful card and took me out to dinner. It was a wonderful day!

And now for the surprise! Well, it was a surprise for me! Scott, the boys and I were outside wandering around our property. Scott got some free telephone poles about 7 feet tall from a neighbor. He’s hoping to use them for a chicken coop/goatbarn/storage shed thingy. After we decided where we’re going to build this building I asked if I could show him where I wanted to put a clothesline. After showing him he said he’d go get the post-hole digger and start digging the holes! He got both holes dug which was easier than we thought. We didn’t run into as many rocks as we anticipated. We had 4 4X4s around that were supposed to be used for a small porch and steps for our front entry. Well, since that hasn’t been built yet we decided to use them for the clothesline and replace them when we can build the porch. After evening milking we made a quick trip to town and got the rest of the parts we needed! Scott had the poles in the ground before dark last night! All we have to do now is finish stringing the line itself! I’m so excited! We’ve been without a dryer for many months now. We do have an indoor clothes drying rack but it doesn’t work as well now that we don’t have a fire going constantly. I’m so excited to be able to dry my clothes outside all spring, summer, and fall! Thank you, Scott!

Here are a couple pictures of the soon to be finished project!
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This is my view while hanging out clothes in the morning!
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Yes, our cows! One of our pastures connects to the back of our property. I just love seeing and hearing the cows in the morning!

8 thoughts on “Belated birthday post and a surprise!

  1. Hi Leah! I am glad you had such a wonderful birthday! Flowers that you can actually PLANT are the best kind… Then, you can enjoy them for much longer than just a dozen roses! 🙂

    Where did you go out to eat? It is always such a treat when we do something like that because it pretty rare that we can afford to go out!

    YAY for the clothesline!!! That is exactly the kind that I want to be put up here. We need to get some help from my stepdad. It is wonderful to be able to hang out clothes in the nice, warm breezes. Clothesracks just don’t hold enough!

    OK. I have to pick at you a bit, here. You have to know I am just pickin’, too. I haven’t really taken offense, but…. I AM 30. 😛 I actually feel better now than I did when I was a teenager! People make too much of a deal out of turning 30 or 40 or 50, and I think that is what scares us sometimes. Anyway, just to let you know I haven’t turned to dust ’cause I turned 30. LOL!!! I will be 31 this June! 😛

  2. Happy birthday, Leah!

    Congratulations on the clothesline – what a blessing. I’m surprised too at there not being many rocks. We lived in Rome, NY, for a year and when I my husband put in a fence for us, after he dug down about two inches I swear it was nothing but rocks. He ruined at least one pair of posthole diggers on that project.

    And a goatbarn! Did I read that right? Scott was getting nostalgic about goats at my blog recently.
    😉

    Kelly

  3. Happy birthday!

    Your clothesline is wonderful, and what a beautiful view you have from the hilltop.

    It sounds like your day was perfect in every way! A day with special gifts and good food, all spent in the company of those you love most…

  4. Happy Birthday Leah! Sounds like you had wonderful day! Congratulations on the clothesline! Matt has ours all ready but we don’t have one of those pole pounder things so he has to dig the holes himself and then fill them with sacrete. Hopefully this weekend he will have time…

    Oh-let me know how you like that cd set. That sounds just up my alley!If it is anything like My Life for Yours, I know you will love it!

  5. Happy Birthday Leah! Your day sounds wonderful…and 30 is not all that bad 🙂 I have been hanging out my clothes too…in the summer it is so hot to run the dryer anyways…! You certainly are blessed with many good things from the Lord…I am blessed to know you and count you a friend 🙂

  6. Congratulations on the wonderful day and your clothes line. What a blessing! Will your cows bother your clothes? You may be able to put a little barrier enclosure a few feet out from your clothesline if they do and you can access it through a little gate or small walkway.

Leave a Reply

