Baby names and belly shots!

Scott and I got to talking baby names on Sunday night. We talked a little about the ones we’d already discussed. Then Scott mentioned the name Josiah. We decided to look up the story of King Josiah which can be found in 2 Kings and 2 Chronicles. He is also mentioned in Lamentations but we didn’t read that. So now the name Josiah is in the running and probably in the lead!

Josiah means “fire of the Lord,” “Jehovah has healed,” “God restores” etc. Those are the three I’ve found so far!

Here are a couple verses I really liked.

2 Kings 23:25 “Now before him there was no king like him, who turned to the LORD with all his heart, with all his soul, and with all his might, according to all the Law of Moses; nor after him did any arise like him.”

2 Chronicles 34:1-3 “Josiah was eight years old when he became king, and he reigned thirty-one years in Jerusalem. And he did what was right in the sight of the LORD, and walked in the ways of his father David; he did not turn aside to the right hand or to the left. For in the eighth year of his reign, while he was still young, he began to seek the God of his father David; and in the twelfth year he began to purge Judah and Jerusalem of the high places, the wooden images, the carved images, and the molded images.”

We are considering using David as a middle name because Josiah was said to be like his father David. We’ve liked the name David for awhile anyway and had even considered it as a first name at one point. Scott has a good friend from western NY whose name is David and we have a couple frineds from church named David, too. 😉

David means “dearly loved” or “beloved.”

So what do you think? Do you like Josiah David? 🙂

On to belly shots.

I took another belly shot a week ago at 11 weeks 3 days pregnant. I’m posting my 6 weeks 3 days pregnant shot as well for comparison. You can really tell that baby is growing! And it really is baby as I’ve lost another 5 pounds in the last two weeks for a grand total of 6 pounds lost this pregnancy!

6 weeks 3 days
Image hosting by Photobucket

11 weeks 3 days
Image hosting by Photobucket
Image hosting by Photobucket

Can you see the growth? I can hardly wait until this precious baby is born!

17 thoughts on “Baby names and belly shots!

  1. Wow, isn’t it exciting to actually see baby growing?? I loved wearing maternity clothes, but it was even better when I had a belly to fill them out!
    Josiah David is a nice name- I’ve always liked the name Josiah!

  2. I love the name Josiah David! I’ve known a few Josiah’s, and they have all been great blessings!

    You’ve lost weight during pregnancy! I want to know your trick- I always gained!! You look fantastic!

  3. Elizabeth, the first maternity outfit I wore was to church last Sunday. I’m still fitting well into my normal clothes. I won’t break out most of the maternity clothes until I get a bit bigger.

    HomesteadHerbs, I’ve lost weight with all my pregnancies. I think it’s because I carry so much extra around as it is. (blush) By the end I gain back what I lost plus several more pounds.

  4. Leah, I think it’s a beautiful name! We would have seriously considered Josiah, but the Ashes at church just had one 3 mos. ago. However, the Lord has given us Elias John and we’ve found out that this little one is a boy! 🙂

  5. You and your weight loss…goodness me, lucky duck! You look wonderful, and the boys look great, too. (Millie kept laughing because little John looks so happy.) She is very excited because, although I thought she knew before now, I guess I neglected to personally tell her that you had a baby in your belly. As soon as John came home, she rushed to the door and told him news that he already knew, so belated congratulations from an excited Millie!

    I love the name Josiah David! Now about those girl’s names…
    Remember– I’ve already got a gift if she’s a she. 🙂

  6. Barbara, I really like the name you have picked for your son! I’d forgotten the Ashs had named there son Josiah! It’s actually funny because their second youngest is also named Noah! We may end up with several sons with the same names!

    Abby, I’m so glad Millie is excited for us! 🙂 We can hardly wait to see you all again! Hopefully soon!

    As of now Esther will be our daughter’s name if we have a girl. We’ve had this name picked out for over 5 years so we don’t really talk much about girls names. I’d surely love to have a daughter if it’s the Lord’s will!

    I was thinking if we had boy/girl twins, they would be “King” Josiah and “Queen” Esther!!! Isn’t that cool?! I did have a boy/girl twin dream by the way! 😉

  7. YOU LOOK GREAT! Having pictures for comparison really show you change that you might not otherwise have noticed! That is SUPER exciting. Good. I am not the only one who starts to show early on. (I was kind of freaked out when I was showing at 11 weeks. Remember-I thought I was either having twins or my date was miscalculated!)

    BTW~That is a truly great name! I like that one best of all the ones you have suggested so far.

  8. Leah, I love the names Esther…and Josiah…mainly because I have an Esther and an Isaac Josiah…***** Wouldn’t it be fun if you could use BOTH names this time round…? Are they sure you aren’t carrying 2?

  9. Rebecca, I love seeing my body/baby growing and changing! It’s confirmation to me that things are going well with baby! I’m so glad you like our current top name pick for a boy! 😉

    Wendy, I’m measuring at least 4 weeks past my EDD! That coupled with the fact that we heard our baby’s heartbeat earlier than with either of the boys makes me wonder. We’ll see what the midwife says at my next appointment on May 9th! I’d LOVE to have twins! 🙂

    Candy, thanks for stopping by my blog! I’ll go check out your belly pic right now! 🙂

  10. Oh, I am slow to see this! Well now, I must say that I am partial to David. LOL 😉 I really do like Josiah David, Leah. I think it is very noble sounding. I love to see your photos, too!!! Keep them coming. 😀

  11. Leah,
    I just want to clarify- I wasn’t speaking about you wearing maternity clothes- I was down memory lane because from the time I found out I was pregnant I was wearing maternity shirts, even though for the longest time there was no reason to wear them.
    I was specifically speaking about you seeing your belly and baby grow, and how exciting it is! I’m sorry if my comment was misconstrued in any way, have a good day!

  12. Elizabeth,

    No need to apologize! I just misunderstood. I was the same way with my first two pregnancies! As soon as I knew I was pregnant I broke out the maternity clothes. 😉 This time around I’m wearing more dresses and most of them have higher waistlines so I’ll be able to wear them for quite awhile longer. I’m so sorry I misunderstood. 😦

  13. Hi Leah,
    As soon as I looked at your picture, I thought twins! Let me know…. 🙂 As the Momma of a Josiah, I love the name! Ours is a Josiah Andrew, although most of the time we call him Siah!
    Blessings on your and your babe!
    PS I hope I answered your bee questions in my post today!

  14. Hey Leah,
    Yeah, I think you are growing…steadily!

    I also love the pics you posted of your kitchen. You’re doing a GREAT job of organizing! In a small house organization is a must. I know that personally because of our small apartment in Germany. Everything HAD to be in it’s place or everything looked a mess. Besides that, you know where everything is!

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

