Decluttering and organizing the kitchen!

Some of you may have noticed the a link in my sidebar to Mrs. Catherine’s blog. You can go there by clicking here. Mrs. Catherine also has a Yahoo group and publishes a magazine! I’ve found both her blog and her Yahoo group to be very encouraging and motivating! They are both about decluttering your home and keeping it clean and beautiful! I’ve not purchased a subscription to her magazine but hope to in the future.

Two weeks ago the focus room for the week was the kitchen. Last week it was the dining room. Since I don’t have a dining room I decided to continue on with the kitchen! I’m very blessed to have a big kitchen even though we live in a mobile home. I’m so thankful for all my counter and cupboard space! Well having all this space can be less than nice if it isn’t kept up with. So I’ve been tackling my kitchen! I’m too embarrassed to show the before pictures (blush) but will gladly share with you my after pictures! 🙂 My house WILL be in order before this baby is born! So do you want to see what I’ve been working so hard on?

This cupboard holds our plates and bowls. Yes, we’ve resorted to paper plates because we have no water, again.
Image hosting by Photobucket

This cupboard is connected to the above cupboard and holds all our glasses and mugs.
Image hosting by Photobucket

This is my cookbook counter! Yes, I have enough counter space to use one just for cookbooks!
Image hosting by Photobucket

This cupboard is below the ones in pictures 1 and 2. It holds all my mixing bowls, baking dishes, and storage containers.
Image hosting by Photobucket

The top of my fridge! Yes, I only have one thing stored there now! That is some of our handmade soap. I need to find a new home for it as I continue to declutter our house.
Image hosting by Photobucket

I cleared a lot of the stuff off the front of my fridge.
Image hosting by Photobucket

I put a lot of the stuff from the front onto the side instead. It is still visible but not as overwhelming!
Image hosting by Photobucket

This cupboard holds our sharp knives, light bulbs, candles, etc. It needs to be reinforced before we can put heavy things in it.
Image hosting by Photobucket

This is the counter space below the above cupboard. I think I might use it for some of my scrapbooking and cardmaking supplies.
Image hosting by Photobucket

This is one of my 4 drawers. As you can see it holds ziploc bags, aluminum foil, plastic wrap, and my hand mixer among other things.
Image hosting by Photobucket

This drawer is for towels, dishcloths, and potholders.
Image hosting by Photobucket

The next 3 pictures are of my food “pantry.” These do not hold my baking supplies just my canned, boxed, and bagged food.
Image hosting by Photobucket

Image hosting by Photobucket

Image hosting by Photobucket

I am so thankful that my kitchen is so big! Most mobile homes have tiny kitchens but mine is huge! These pictures represent less than half of my cupboards and probably only 1/4 to 1/3 of my counter space! As I said before I have a LONG way to go but I will make it with the Lord’s help!

16 thoughts on “Decluttering and organizing the kitchen!

  1. Leah! You are doing an AWESOME job with your kitchen! Everything is so neat and tidy. I love it! 😀 I agree, your kitchen is a really nice size, especially for a mobile home. A lot of them really skimp on counter and shelf space. In fact, I really like your place in general. It seems spacious all over!

    Are some of your things in storage, or is that the bulk of your kitchen things? I need to weed some stuff out, I think! We have a million mugs and cups and… Everytime Dave got stationed somewhere, we picked up a mug from that place! LOL

    Good job, mama! Keep posting your progress! I should post some pics of my before and after kitchen. I don’t know if you noticed, but I sewed some green curtains to hide all my junk, since we don’t have ANY cabinets in our wee kitchen. Everything is on display, and I don’t have all matching plates or cups like Martha Stewart! (ha!)

  2. Our home is very spacious for being a mobile home! I really actually like it even though it’s so old and needs so much repair!

    I have more kitchen things but without running water it was hard to keep up with the dirty things. (blush)

    I DID notice the green curtains you made for your kitchen cabinets! They love wonderful! I meant to say something to you about them the night that we were over at your house! I’d LOVE to see before and after pictures of all you’re doing in your house!

  3. LEAH! I am SO impressed with your cupboards and drawers! Everything looks WONDERFUL. Mine are a far stretch from that. I was MOST impressed with all those plastic containers perfectly stacked in a little turny thing. Mine are all saved from store containers and are haphazardly strewn all over with all the lids congregating in a cardboard box!

    I also liked your canned goods. Homemade canned goods look SO nice and display so well you almost wish the cupboards didn’t have doors!

    Great job and keep up the good work! I hope you post more pictures to show your progress. There is nothing like seeing your efforts paid off! 🙂

  4. Woohoo! Well done, Leah! SOME of us, though we will post zillions of pictures of everything BUT, will never post pictures of our cabinets (at least until weeding out and/or more magical cupboards appear). 🙂

    I, like Rebecca, was impressed by the cool, little, roundabout thing for plastic lids and the bright rows of canned goods. Most impressive, though, is the squeaky-clean sparkle of every little everything!

  5. Good job! I can empathize with the no water. Shinnston is in the process of putting in new water lines right now (very much needed!). Unfortunately there have been a few days that we’ve had to go without water or it’s very dirty looking. 😦 Will be glad when the town is done.

    I’m very impressed with what you’ve managed to do without water! Your kitchen is looking great! Can’t wait to see the rest of your progress!

  6. Hello Leah! This is Robin, from Kentucky. You welcomed me over at the “Choosing Home” forum back in December. 🙂 I just went back there to check it out again and saw your welcome. Thank you so much! I enjoyed reading about your sister being in Germany, like I was.

    If you post on your blog more (like I do) than you post in forums, I would enjoy staying in touch via our blogs, if you like.

    Here is my blog address. I have a small group of ladies whom I have gotten to know over the years on-line or IRL that I visit. 😀

    I hope you are having a wonderful weekend, Leah. Take care ~ Robin

  7. Rebecca, your comment made me feel SO good! I look up to you for your great homekeeping skills so a compliment like that really made my day! Thanks so much! I’ll definitely post more pictures of my progress!

    Abby, thank you, too, for your kind comments and compliments! I feel so good about all that I’m accomplishing!

    Barbara, I hope they get the water lines done soon! I’m sure it’s even harder for you since you have a bigger family! Thanks for your comments!

    Shara and Jennelle, thanks for taking the time to check my progress! You ladies are such an inspiration to me!

    Robin, nice to see you here! I deleted your post after bookmarking your blog. I look forward to getting to know you better!

    Michelle, actually Scott’s Grandma got that storage container and lid organizer for me. It comes with the lids and 3 different sized containers. It’s one of those “As seen on TV” deals. I’ll find the catalog she got it from and show it to you. It’s really handy and keeps everything neat!

  8. Hey Leah, It looks FABULOUS! Those canned peaches were making my mouth water! I have one of those spinny things…and I cant live without it…I think it was like $10 at Family Dollar…the As Seen On TV are like $14 or $15…I think I will get another one:) I actually rearranged ONE of my cupboards….isnt this a little early for the nesting instinct? HA

  9. I love Mrs. Catherine’s blog too. Reading there always gives me the urge to find something to organize. 🙂

    Your kitchen looks great—I especially like the looks of all your wonderful home canned goods! How pretty they look in your cupboard.

    Thanks for sharing.

  10. i notice you can, thats so wonderful
    is it hard? i am want to do it but i
    am worried that i wouldnt do it properly.
    i think that worry comes from my grama
    who was raised on a farm told me a horror
    story about a whole family who died
    because they ate a can a corn that was
    not properly sealed.

  11. Hi, I am new to your site, but love all of your pictures. I was going to tell you that it looks like the BEST part of your kitchen is all of those canned goods. YUM.

Leave a Reply

