Midwife appointment!

Today was my second midwife appointment! I’ve lost one pound since my first visit 5 weeks ago! My blood pressure was 120/78. Protein and glucose were both negative. I declined pretty much all the tesing except for CBC, HIV, and something else which I’ve forgetten for the moment. (I’m doing the HIV test not because I’m in any risk category but because I’d rather have them poke me now than have them poke my baby in the hospital if I happen to be transfered.) I’m measuring a little big it seems. My uterus was already out of my pelvis! (This doesn’t usually occur until about 12 weeks.) My next appointment is not until May 9th, 6 weeks from today so we’ll see how I measure then. And best of all, we heard our precious baby’s heartbeat!!! I was really hoping we would but knew, for me, that it wasn’t likely. I’m too well padded. Anyway, after just a minute or so of looking for it, we found it!!! I’m just so excited and thrilled! I didn’t hear either of the boy’s heartbeats until after 12 weeks! I’m still in awe over hearing my precious baby’s heart beating away! We didn’t listen for long but my midwife said it was in the 150’s! Can you tell I’m overjoyed?!

9 thoughts on “Midwife appointment!

  1. Thanks ladies for your comments! I am still on Cloud 9 after hearing my precious baby’s heartbeat!

    Rebecca, at the top of my blog is a pregnancy ticker. It tells how far along I am. I was 10 weeks 4 days at my appointment. I will 11 weeks tomorrow. I’m almost through the first trimester!!! I’ll be feeling the baby move before I know it!

  2. Hi Leah,
    That is so exciting. I think that being pregnant is one of my most treasured times…I just feel so consumed with “who” this little one is, how big they are, and every little milestone along the way! It is fun to be able to hear your thoughts along your journey…I just love it!

  3. I’m glad everything is going so well for you and your precious little one. I LOVED hearing a heartbeat for the first time (and everytime thereafter of course) It makes the reality of my baby so much more real πŸ™‚
    Keep posting, I love hearing about it πŸ™‚

  4. Leah, I answered your question you left for me, on my site a few days ago. Just wondering if you had a chance to read it.

    Also, the last few emails you sent me,and the last comment on my site were quite harsh. Are we still friends? Of did something happen that I am ignorant of? 😦

  5. Candy,

    Yes, we’re still friends! I’m sorry my post and emails seemed to be harsh. I was not trying to be. I did ask your forgiveness in the second email I sent to you. I’ve been very busy the last few days and have just spent much if any time on the internet. I’ll go check out your answer to my question now. Again, please forgive me for sounding harsh.

Leave a Reply

