Notice anything different around here? ;)

I couldn’t resist. I had planned to wait until Valentines’ Day but my curiosity got the better of me! I caved and took two pregnancy tests on Friday, one early in the afternoon and one in the evening. The one I took in the afternoon was an internet cheapie. The one I took in the evening was my one and only Equate(Walmart brand). They were both positive!!! I’m pregnant!!! The line came up on the internet cheapie within about 5 minutes and continued to get darker as it dried! The Equate was positive within a minute or so of the urine passing across the test strip! In fact, the test line is almost as dark as the control line! I really didn’t expect it to be that dark! I’m so excited!!! I can hardly believe it’s true!!! God has blessed us with another precious baby!!! We are both so excited about this wonderful blessing! We, of course, are also concerned about another miscarriage but from the darkness of the second line on my pregnancy tests Friday, I think everything is going to be fine!

I had planned to tell Scott on Valentine’s Day as well but I just couldn’t keep such good news from him! I was able to surprise him which is really neat! He had lost track of when my next cycle was due. I decided to make him a card with a new baby stamp set I got from The Angel Company. He knew I’d been making baby shower cards so when I asked him if he wanted to see what I made that day, he half-heartedly said, “Sure.” I gave him the card not having sealed the envelope. (I didn’t want to give it away.) So he pulled the card out of the envelope and commented on how cute it was. Then he opened it and saw that it was to him. He said, “It’s for me?!” I said, “Yes!” So he began to read it. Then he looked at me and said, “Are you sure? How do you know?” The look on his face was priceless! He was so surprised and in shock! I said, “I took a test.” After showing him the tests it began to sink in. He is so excited!

We told Scott’s parents, Grandma and brother on Saturday morning. They were more excited than I thought they would be! We told my parents Saturday afternoon. I also called my sister Saturday afternoon and told her. My parents and sister were both super excited! We told our church family yesterday at church! Everyone was very excited for us! We have a hard time keeping such exciting news a secret! 😉 Now I need to call the midwife and get my first appointment set up!

My symptoms have been so different this time around! I’ve had a weird “lump” in my throat/gagging thing since shortly after ovulation. I usually don’t get any kind of queasiness/nausea until about 5.5-6 weeks and even then it isn’t bad. My usual first symptoms are fatigue and frequent urination. Those symptoms didn’t set in until the last few days. I’m wondering if this baby may be a girl! We’ll see! We don’t get ultrasounds done as they are not covered by Samaritan Ministries and we can’t afford to have them done independantly. Besides, I’m not convinced of their safety. 😉 So, as with our boys, we won’t be finding out until delivery day!

I’d be grateful to you all if you would keep us and our precious little baby in your prayers. God is good and we are so thankful for His blessings!!!

11 thoughts on “Notice anything different around here? ;)

  1. I’ll congratulate again! 🙂 When I checked your blog early this morning I noticed the ticker, but didn’t see the new post.

    Remember peppermint! It’s been a real blessing this time around for me. My morning sickness is waning, so I am thankful for that.

    Praying that you have a healthy 9 months!

  2. Hi Leah. I was so bummed I didn’t get to get filled in on all the details at church on Sunday-but Corynn was REALLY sick (she had a 104.5 temp) and is only just NOW beginning to feel and act better.

    I love the way you told Scott. That is priceless! It will be a good story and a good remembrance if you add them to Baby Terry’s scrapbook!

    I am so glad that everyone was excited for you-especially your ‘rents and in-‘rents :-)! It is perfect timing really, finding out when your Mom is home for a while to revel in the glory of it all with you.

    Anyway. I hope to get more details as time progresses. I will see you on Saturday (I hope!)! Rebecca

  3. Oh, hurrah, hurrah, hurrah!
    Sing out with joy!

    We are so excited and happy for you, as you know, but there’s no harm in repeating such sentiments.

    Really cool way to tell Scott, too! Much more creative than my, “John, we have a baby!” routine. 🙂

    Isn’t is wonderful to be feeling “icky” symptoms? I am glad to hear that the baby is already making his or her presence known with a strong flourish! We will pray for your and your wee one’s health and that your physical comfort increases as the weeks go by.

  4. So very thrilled and excited for you Leah (and Scott)! 🙂 I will pray for the health of the little one as it starts its miraculous journey of growth.

  5. Thank you all for your prayers and congratulations! Scott and I have been hoping and praying for this for a very long time! We are excited about this precious new baby we have been blessed with!

    Christ, yes we do homebirths! Both boys were born at home and we’re planning another homebirth this time around! Here’s the address to the page with the maternity information. It is pretty simple and works well for us since we homebirth. Our last homebirth cost $2700 and was completely covered! How much is covered is dependant on how long you’ve been with them. When our youngest was born we’d been with them for only 13 months! I hope I’ve been helpful! I’d be more than happy to answer any other questions you may have!

  6. Many congratulations, blessings and prayers coming your way from England. I have been following your blog for a little while now and have been praying for you. Praise the Lord!
    kaje

  7. I’m unfortunately one of the last to congratulate you, but the wishes are still the same. I will be praying for you and your family as God continues to bless throughout this pregnancy, and after your little one arrives. May God work in John and Noah’s life, helping their transition to having another baby in the home go smoothly- in any case, I know this is an answer to your prayers and I am thankful for you!

  8. Hello, I came across your blog while doing a search and was intrigued because we’re considering homeschooling our children next year and are also very interested in homebirths. We have three children, with our fourth due next month. Congratulations on your expected baby, and I’ll be praying that everything goes smoothly in your pregnancy!
    God bless,
    Catherine

  9. Leah,
    I posted on Scott’s but wanted to leave you a note also – what a wonderful blessing! I also will be praying for the health of Mamma and baby – that you symptoms would be mild so that you can enjoy every second of ths pregnancy. Praising Jesus,
    Cheri

Leave a Reply

