Poems for Pregnant Mamas

How Much Longer
Mitzi J Confer

I’m waiting so impatiently
To see your sweet face
It seems to be taking forever
Before my life, you Grace

My arms long to hold you
To touch your soft skin
How much longer now
Before I see your tiny chin

All my instincts tell me
It has to happen soon
But as the days and weeks go by
My life is filled with gloom

How much longer, Lord
Must my arms ache to hold
This precious life inside me
His birthdate yet untold

From the Beginning…
Author Unknown

Mothers give the greatest gift,
that we on earth can receive.
A life to live and love to give;
the day she does conceive.

She carries me close, inside her.
Her heartbeat I do hear.
Her voice sounds like Angels singing-
The first sweet sound I hear.

Her touch is; Oh so gentle.
So secure I feel inside.
Only wondering how much longer,
in her womb I must abide.

Then the day comes,
when I no longer need to stay.
I only want to be outside-
in her arms I wish to lay.

I twist I turn,
I push I shove,
I open my eyes
and look above.

So scared I feel,
I just want to hide,
then her voice I hear,
so close by my side.

Then I see her-
The most Beautiful sight I’ve seen,
reaching out for me- her eyes full of tears,
yet still a happy gleam.

I snuggle and cuddle,
as close as I can.
As she kisses me gently,
and then takes me by my little hand.

I love her instantly,
as much as my small heart can bare.
Bundled up in her arms;
I grasp a strand of her soft hair.

I wrap it in my hand,
So, so very tight.
wanting to make sure that-
she is with me throughout the night.

I settle in quickly,
and slowly drift off to sleep.
As my mother carefully watches over me,
and counts each toe on my feet.

I see her in my dreams,
I feel her in my heart.
And I know this feeling will be here, in life,
even if we are apart.

So Mother, when you think of me,
know that this is true;
When I think of Undying Love,
Mother I am thinking of YOU!

These poems were written about and for pregnant mamas but they really touched me, too. The Lord has not seen fit to bless us with another baby yet which is very hard sometimes. We’ve been praying and patiently waiting for well over a year now. (We did suffer a very early miscarriage in September of last year.) I don’t understand why God is saying, “Wait,” but I’m trying to be faithful to Him and trust Him for His perfect timing. My body aches to carry another baby, to feel him move inside me and to see my belly grow! My arms ache to hold another precious baby blessing in arms, to cuddle him close and to smell that sweet newborn baby smell! If God so leads you, I’d be ever so grateful if you would pray for me to accept God’s perfect will for our lives. God is doing some marvelous things in me through this long, hard wait for another child. I know that when another baby is given to us I will be a better mother because of this growing, maturing time I am going through! Praise be to Him!

9 thoughts on “Poems for Pregnant Mamas

  1. Hi this is Stephanie, from the getting back to basics blog, thought I’d stop by! I’ll be prayin for you. I’ve started getting that ache too and it’s only been 8 months since my last pregnancy! Probably from hearing a lot about pregnancy in the past few weeks. Hubby stated he’s not ready yet, that’s how I know we’re not ready yet as a family. You’ve got a nice blog here and I’m sure I will be back. Thanks for coming to my defense on the whole dresses issue, and you don’t even know me! But it’s appreciated just the same!

  2. Leah,
    Sorry to hear that you weren’t expecting. I have been praying for you and will continue to do so! I do understand your pain as I went through a bit of secondary infertility after my 2nd baby also. That has been my longest spacing too (there is a 4 year age difference between my 2nd and 3rd babies.) Praying that God will bless you soon!

  3. Hi Leah. Thanks for posting those poems. Are they from that book called (something similar POSSIBLY to…) Poetry and Prose for Mothers? You got it last year for Mother’s Day or your birthday I think. I really liked them-so much so I think I am going to change the font into something decorative, print them, and use them in my scrapbooking when Peanut comes!

    Of course I am praying for you-I often do in my personal prayers. I think you are doing wonderfully well, especially after our discussion on Tuesday night. I really enjoyed having you over!

  4. Leah,

    Yes, thank you for posting these poems. They are beautiful and I can see how they would touch any mother, pregnant or not.

    I pray for you and Scott often and agree with Rebecca that you are doing well with accepting God’s will for you.

  5. Stephanie, it’s so nice to know your name! I was glad to stand up for you on your blog! I would hope that someone I didn’t know would do the same for me if I were in your situation. I’m so glad you like my blog. Thank you!

    Barbara, thanks so much for sharing a little about your infertility. It helps to know others have been where I am. How are you feeling?

    Rebecca, I actually read these poems over at Candy’s blog, The Genuine Profit of Home Sweet Home. You can find her blog in my sidebar.

    Michelle, how are you feeling? Any contractions yet? 🙂

    Thanks so much to all of you for your encouraging words! I thank you also for your prayers. They mean so much to me!

    If only you could see me the first few days of each cycle you may change your minds about how well you think I’m handling God’s timing. *blush* I am doing my best, with His help, to patiently wait on Him.

  6. Hi Leah! No contractions that will get me anywhere… I have been having those pesky Braxton Hicks ones for months now. I wrote a post on my blog about how I am feeling, too.

    I fully expect to see everyone on Sunday. This baby seems happy to be where he is! LOL

  7. Thanks for your honest post, Leah. Although I’m sure you do struggle each month that God doesn’t fill your womb, you are not mired in discontent, and this is evident through your words. Praise Him for the grace He gives in difficult situations! I continue to pray for another wee one for you. 🙂

  8. Leah,
    Thank you for asking! Still battling fatigue and nausea. The nausea is worse at night, but I just simply go to bed then. I’m hoping in a couple of weeks, they’ll both be gone.

  9. Leah:

    I remember that longing too. I had five years of infertility after our first miscarriage. It was an agonizing wait. I can’t say that I handled it well at all. I remember those monthly disappointments. I will be praying for you, dear one.

Leave a Reply

