"Altered" Books

My mom recently started making “altered” books! See buys composition notebooks from Target for 50 cents and totally alters the cover! First she finds 3 sheets of the same (or coordinating) scrapbooking paper. Then she covers both the outside and the inside of both the front and back covers. Then she goes wild adding all kinds of fun things to the front! She uses old stamps(the kind for mailing letters), old playing cards, pictures from old books, scrabble tiles, dominoes, etc. Its so fun and they look so cool! Well, I decided to try my hand at making my own “altered” books! I have several church friends I thought might really enjoy them! 😉 I’ll take pictures of them and post them to my other blog on Monday (after they’ve been given to said frineds)!

3 thoughts on “"Altered" Books

  1. One of my friends from college made a few altered books before her senior art show; she used old dictionaries and other antique books for starters. You can do so much with them! (Even so, though, seeing a published book carved out and painted over made part of me quake at the bold affront!)

  2. Abby,

    My mom and I use pictures and such from old books, too, but only ones that are already falling apart or having missing pages. We also have decided to photo copy some pages and then age them ourselves with Walnut Ink! It gives the paper a look of age without actually using the original picture!

    Natalija,

    No, we don’t cover the front with anything. We use spray-on adhesive to adhere the scrapbook paper to the front of the books. Then we use a strong glue to atach all the bigger things like buttons, dominoes, etc.

    I’ll have the pictures up on Monday! I’m so excited to see what everyone thinks!

Leave a Reply

