Handmade soap and more cards

A couple of friends from church have asked me about the soaps we make. One friend suggested I post pictures and prices here on my blog. Well, I got some pictures taken this morning and now I’m putting them here on my blog. As of right now we only have four scents to offer. Hopefully soon we will be adding more to the list!

One of my favorites is our Very Cinnamon soap. It smells so yummy! Perfect for the holiday season!
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Another one of my other favorites is our Citrus Blend soap. It has dried grated orange peel in it! It’s great for getting all the dirt and grime off your hands after gardening, etc.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Lemongrass is a softly scented soap that is a light buttery yellow color.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Peppermint is another great scent for this time of year!
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

All our soaps weigh at least 3 oz. some even as much as 4 oz. As of right now, we sell them for $2.75 or 2/$5.00. A great, inexpensive gift that will get weeks, if not months of enjoyment!

P.S. I posted some new cards on my other blog if anyone is interested in looking at them. 😉

9 thoughts on “Handmade soap and more cards

  1. You are off to a great start, Leah! I have been making and selling handmade soap for about 5 years and people just love it. I took a break last year as our boys were really keeping me busy but I can’t wait to start up again next spring
    to sell it at the farm market with my bread. Are your soaps olive oil, coconut and palm oil?
    I suggest adding a lavender scented bar to your list. That is my best seller– I put dried and crushed calendula flower petals in mine but a plain lavender bar would be great.
    Another thing we do is Herrick slices a bunch of each scent into 1/2 inch thick bars (half bars) and we bundle 4 different scents together with a label and plain raffia. We call it a soap sampler and they sell for $6. I get $3 for my bars or 4/$10.
    Don’t be afraid to charge more-you’ll get it.
    I have decorated soap for favors for two bridal showers and
    made very good money. Wrapped each bar with handmade
    paper, pretty ribbon and a small sprig of dried flowers and charged a little bit more. There are lots of possibilities. As with anything it will take time to build up your business but just keep practicing and selling what can. Homemade soap is wonderful!!
    God bless you,
    Marlene (the Deliberate Agrarian’s wife)

  2. Barbara,

    Thanks for your comment on our soaps!

    Marlene,

    Thank you, too, for your comment!

    Right now we are using tallow, coconut oil, and olive oil plus a little cocoa butter. We’re thinking of transitioning into a vegetarian soap, though. After we transition we will start charging more because it is going to cost us more to make it.

    Lavender is on my list! It is one of my favorites. I just need to buy the essential oil.

    When my mom was making soap she was asked to make some for a wedding. I’d love to do something like that someday!

    The soap sampler is a wonderful idea! We may just have to “borrow” the idea! 😉 If you don’t mind, of course!

    When you start making your soaps again you should have your husband post pictures on his blog!

  3. Just wanted to tell you this is a good thing. I love when I see other people making soap. I used to make soap balls as samplers. The only draw back is they take time to make. Best of luck to you. If you want take a peek at my website
    countryherbaldelights.com

Leave a Reply

