Spiced Peach Jam recipe with a picture!

It’s been quite awhile since I’ve posted here. We’ve been quite busy around these parts! A new family moved to the area and are coming to our church! My husband has been helping them renovate their “new” house! It is a beautiful house that was built in the 1860’s, I believe! While the men have been working, I have been able to get to know the wife/mother! It is so nice to have yet another like-minded family to fellowship with!

Well, I finally got my Spiced Peach Jam made! My men love it! So do I! 😉 Here’s the recipe I used and a picture of the finished product. The recipe is from the Ball Blue Book. Enjoy!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Peach Jam

2 quarts crushed, peeled, pitted peaches
½ cup water
6 cups sugar

Combine peaches and water in large saucepot. Cook gently 10 minutes. Add sugar, stirring until dissolved. Bring slowly to a boil. Cook rapidly to gelling point, about 15 minutes. As mixture thickens, stir to prevent sticking. Remove from heat. Skim foam if necessary. Ladle hot jam into hot jars, leaving ¼-inch headspace. Adjust two-piece caps. Process 15 minutes in a boiling-water canner. Yield: about 4 pints.

Spiced Peach Jam

Follow recipe for canning Peach Jam. Add 1 teaspoon whole cloves, ½ teaspoon whole allspice and 1 cinnamon stick tied in a spice bag to jam during cooking. Remove spice bag before canning jam.

My aunt gave me lots of tomatoes from her garden! Thanks, Aunt Nancy!!! I think I will make some more spaghetti sauce and some salsa! Does anyone have any really good salsa recipes?!

5 thoughts on “Spiced Peach Jam recipe with a picture!

  1. I just made salsa yesterday! I used my mom’s Garden Salsa recipe (it has corn, peppers, etc. in it, too). If I find some more canning jars- here’s hoping- I’m going to try a batch of regular tomato salsa using vinegar instead of the lemon juice for which Garden Salsa calls. If you want the recipe for Garden Salsa, let me know or hop by my mom’s (you could even taste some of hers first to see if you like it enough to make).

    p.s. That peach jam looks lovely! My mom just made batches of peach jam last week, and I’m looking forward to getting “my” winter share. (I haven’t found peaches up here inexpensive enough for me to make my own when my cupboard’s already full of Mom’s jam.) There are benefits to having a mother with only two children still at home who still cans as if she’s got seven!

  2. Abby,

    She still plants a garden as if she had seven at home still, too!!! She was telling Scott, when he went to pick up the tomatoes, that she had 60 tomato plants!!! And I thought 13 was a lot! We are very thankful, though, that she was willing to share her overabundance with us!!!

  3. Oh, I meant to ask you…
    How much sauce were you able to can from your plants? Did the additional ingredients stretch out the tomatoes a bit?

    John and I planted 21 plants, but 8 or 9 are cherry tomato, and I just don’t feel like using up a box or two of our large tomatoes to make a few quarts of sauce. And we eat them up too fast for enough to accumulate in the kitchen!

    I’ll probably just can tomatoes instead of making sauce; my problem is that the sauce recipe you used sounds so scrumptious! Sigh. I wish we lived nearer. I’d just use my mom’s excess, too!

  4. Leah,

    Thanks so much for posting your recipe! I will have to copy it so I can try it some day. That picture is beautiful, too. It looks like it belongs in a magazine! Good job!! 🙂

  5. That is SO funny! That is the recipe I was telling you about! hehehe! I had enough peaches to make jam when we talked about it a few weeks ago-and the motivation to do so. And then, I got so hungry for them-I ate them up! I am hoping to get another batch so I can make the spiced jam and the regular since Matt feels like he would like the more traditional better. I think he doesn’t know because he never tried it…

Leave a Reply

