More canning, homebirth, and family!

Well, I’m back to canning! I was able to can 7 quarts of tomatoes and 5 more pints of green beans today. My mother-in-law gave me some more cukes today so I will probably make some more pickles tomorrow!

On Friday my midwife is having a homebirth picnic! Last year I missed going because I had already made plans to do something else on that day. I look forward to seeing my midwife again and meeting other homebirthing families!

Saturday my mom’s family is having a family “reunion” picnic. It’s always so much fun to catch up with aunts, uncles and cousins I haven’t seen in at least a year! My mom was one of seven children. Her oldest brother has 5 children. Her oldest sister has 7 children. Her other brother has 8 children. Her two other sisters have 3 and 4 children. Her youngest sister had Down’s Syndrome and was one of the sweetest people I knew. (She died along with my grandparents in a car accident 13.5 years ago.) Needless to say it is quite a large gathering! Oh, but it is so wonderful! There are a total of 30 cousins, including my sister, my brother and me! We’ve already topped 50 second cousins and only about 1/2 of the first cousins have any children or are even married! I love being part of a large extended family! And you can bet I will do my part to make it even bigger! 😉

One thought on “More canning, homebirth, and family!

  1. Wow! Two posts in a week! That is great-keep it up! You have been a busy beaver canning and freezing. Have you fit ALL of that freezer food into your kitchen freezer or do you have another one? I can’t IMAGINE fitting all that food in my freezer!

    I hope you have a great time at your reunion and at the homebirth picnic-it sounds like it will be lots o fun.

Leave a Reply

