A busy but profitable week!

Well canning(and freezing) season is definitely upon us! I’ve been canning like a mad woman this week! And I’ve been having so much fun! Tuesday I canned 9 pints of green beans. Thursday I canned 5 pints of summer squash pickles, 8 pints of dilly beans, and 14 pints of bread and butter pickles! Friday I picked 9 pounds of blueberries and put them in the freezer.(This was the 3rd time I’ve been out picking!) Today I canned another 8 pints of green beans.

I also made 5 half-pints of black cap jam and 15 half-pints of blueberry jam with my sister when she was here a few weeks ago. We put some blueberries in the freezer then, too! We split all that we made together.

So here’s a running total:

3 half-pints of black cap jam (My sister took two.)
7 half-pints of blueberry jam (My sister took eight.)
35 pints of green beans
5 pints of summer squash pickles
8 pints of dilly beans
14 pints of bread and butter pickles

I have also put about 17 pounds of blueberries in the freezer. I hope to go picking at least once more before the season is over. I just LOVE blueberries! Yummm!

I have a long list of other things I want to can. I will post some pictures and recipes on Monday of the things I already canned.

Oh, and Scott just reminded me that we have also put quite a bit of snap peas, “regular” peas, and broccoli in the freezer too!

3 thoughts on “A busy but profitable week!

  1. I love your blog. It reminds me of my “younger” years when I lived in New Hampshire. All the pictures are cute. I love picking and eatting blueberries. My mom used to freeze them for use during the winter too.

  2. Your list of delicious garden goods makes me look forward to the days of a large freezer. 🙂

    Well done!
    (The blackcap jam sounds especially delicious, as do the dilly beans…but not together. I’m pregnant, but I’m not that pregnant!)

Leave a Reply

